General Election Schedule in 2009

Lok Sabha elections from April 16 to May 13

Tuesday, March 3, 2009
New Delhi: The general elections to the 15th Lok Sabha will be held in five phases, on April 16, 23 and 30, and May 7 and 13. A total of 714 million voters — an increase of 43 million over the 2004 elections — will elect 543 members.

Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) N. Gopalaswami, along with Election Commissioners Navin Chawla and S.Y. Quraishi, told a press conference here on Monday that counting of votes was scheduled for May 16 and the results would be announced the same day. The entire poll process would be completed by May 28.

With the announcement of the poll dates, the model code of conduct comes into force with immediate effect.

The delimitation process, undertaken in all States except Jammu and Kashmir, Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Jharkhand, Manipur and Nagaland, has resulted in 499 constituencies being redrawn. For the first time, photo electoral rolls will be used in 522 out of the 543 constituencies.

The Assembly elections in Andhra Pradesh, Orissa and Sikkim will be held simultaneously with the Lok Sabha poll. Polling will be held in 124 Lok Sabha constituencies on April 16; in 141 constituencies (including one in Manipur which will go to the polls on April 22) on April 23; in 107 constituencies on April 30; in 85 constituencies on May 7 and in 86 constituencies on May 13.

While Jammu and Kashmir and Uttar Pradesh will have a five-day polling, it will be a four-day event in Bihar and a three-day exercise in Maharashtra and West Bengal. The election will be a two-day affair in Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Manipur, Orissa and Punjab. The remaining 15 States and seven Union Territories will witness a one-day poll.

See the link for more details: