What happened on Bombay?

Nov 4, 1953: Shankarrao Deo writes Nehru and demands formation of Samyukta Maharashtra.

Dec 29, 1953: Union government constitutes the State Reformation Board under Fazal Ali.

Aug 1954: Fazal Ali files report after touring Nagpur, Chanda, Akola, Amravati, Pune and then Bombay

Oct 10, 1955: Fazal Ali’s report is made public. The report suggests formation of two states, Bombay and Vidharbha. Ali proposes Bombay with two divisions – Gujarat, including Kutch and Saurashtra, and Maharashtra, including Marathwada. However, the Samyukta Maharashtra Parishad opposes this proposal.

Oct 19, 1955: Nehru suggests formation of three states: Samyukta Maharashtra, including Vidharba and Marathwada; Maha Gujarat, including Kutch and Saurashtra and Bombay. However, Shankarrao Deo and Dhananjay Gadgil suggest two states: Samyukta Maharashtra, including Vidharbha, Marathwada and Bombay, and Maha Gujarat, including Kutch and Saurashtra.

Nov 8, 1955: Congress working committee accepts Nehru’s tri-state formula.

Nov 18, 1955: The Left parties observe the strike in Bombay.

Nov 20, 1955: Morarji Desai and SK Patil hold rally at Girgaum Chowpatty challenging the supporters of Samyukta Maharashtra.

Nov 21, 1955: The Left parties take a morcha (procession) to the state legislature, which the police try to stop. Fifteen people die and 200 are injured as the police open fire on the morcha at Flora fountain (now known as Hutatma chowk) after some people throw stones. Chimanlal Sheth, a reporter from the Gujarati daily Janmabhoomi, is killed while covering the morcha.

Nov 1955: Non-Congress political parties form the Samyukta Maharashtra Samiti in Pune.

Dec 1, 1955: Yashwantrao Chavan states that if he has to make a choice between Samyukta Maharashtra and Nehru, he will choose Nehru.

Jan 16, 1956: Violent agitations follow Nehru’s announcement of making Bombay a union territory.

Jan 22, 1956: Union minister CD Deshmukh resigns from the Nehru’s cabinet and alleges that Nehru nurtures ill-will towards Maharashtra.

Jun 3, 1956: Nehru declares Bombay a Union territory for five years, but refuses to make the city capital of Maharashtra. He announces a high court and a public service commission for Bombay, Maharashtra and Gujarat.

Aug 10, 1956: Lok Sabha passes a resolution for bigger bilingual state of Bombay. The state includes: Samayukta Maharashtra, including Bombay; and Maha Gujarat including Kutch and Saurashtra.

Nov 1956: Samayukta Maharashtra Samiti starts satyagraha

Mar 28, 1960: Proposal of division of bigger bilingual state of Bombay is put up in Lok sabha.

April 21, 1960: Lok sabha gives its approval for a divided bigger bilingual state of Bombay.

May 1, 1960: Maharashtra is formed with Bombay as its capital.